Announcements & Notices
To issue completion permit before the start of any uses
By 2020, all land development permits in Zanzibar are issued by DCU.
Development Control Unit

The Development Control Unit (DCU) has been established in accordance with Article five (5) of the Building Regulation Act of 2015. The regulations have been prepared in accordance with Articles 12 & 37 of the Town and Country Planning Decree .\r\n chapter 85 of 1955 . This is the law in Zanzibar with a provision relating to construction management and control. DCU began its official duties in 2015 following the release of Official Legal Notice No. 38 of 2015 (L.N 38/2015).DCU works in connection with all the eleven local government authorities in Zanzibar which are: the urban municipality,West A, West B, The council of Chake Chake, Wete, Mkoani, South Council, Central, North A, North B, and Micheweni, together with some of the central government institutions related to construction which are : Department of Urban Planning, The governmental Authority on Development and Management of Stone Town, Zanzibar Environmental Management Authority (ZEMA). In addition, the Association of businessmen, industry and farmers in Zanzibar are also part of DCU representing the private sector.

More about DCU

DCU Objective

To make sure that land development follows principles of sustainable, safe and resilient environment

DCU also oversees the preservation and protection of historic sites. The picture is STONE TOWN.

Recent News & Events

New zanzibar map

DCU Offices Location in Unguja and Pemba

Copyright ©2024 DCU